PDA

View Full Version : New to discus

mitsui
Tue Mar 09, 2010, 11:17 PM
Hi everyone

Im hoping you cal all help me out as I am new to discus. I have a 6ftX14"X18" tank. I am hoping to have about 4-6 discus. I have also been doing alot of reading about these fish but just wanted to make sure I am on the right track. :?

So the Ph should be between 6.0-6.5??
Temp: 27-30 degrees C
GH: 100ppm
Ammonia: 0
Nitrates:?
Nitriates:?
Should I use pool filter sand as my substraight?

Does any one know how much red turq's go for?? I know i depends on the quality but a rough guess would be good.. probably juvies.

Is there any thing else that I should know about?? New to all this sorry for the silly questions, but I am sure you guys know what you are talking about. :D

Thanks in advance :D :D

swampy1972
Wed Mar 10, 2010, 01:22 AM
Welcome to keeping Discus. Have a look through some of the Classifieds on this forum. They'll give youa reasonable idea of what you'll be spending.
Good luck.

Mr Wild
Wed Mar 10, 2010, 11:41 AM
Hi everyone

Im hoping you cal all help me out as I am new to discus. I have a 6ftX14"X18" tank. I am hoping to have about 4-6 discus. I have also been doing alot of reading about these fish but just wanted to make sure I am on the right track. :? Ok I get 286 litres approx - 40 litres recommended for each adult discus - so 7 would be your limit, but of course if you have other fish you will need to reduce your discus to suite.
So the Ph should be between 6.0-6.5?? Most PH is ok with discus, some people only have high PH and they can live quite happily - the importantce of PH is to keep it stable - if you choose to reduce it ans it swings back and forth from high to low it will do more harm than leaving it alone.Temp: 27-30 degrees C
GH: 100ppm
Ammonia: 0
Nitrates:? Less than 10
Nitriates:? NIL
Should I use pool filter sand as my substraight?