PDA

View Full Version : New to discus. Help out a beginner!

Ross
Wed Feb 10, 2010, 10:33 PM
Hey guys I'm completely new to discus and know almost nothing about them. I have been into reefs for a long time and I'm thinking about making a switch. I'm looking for all information I can get.

I'll start out with what size tank do I need? I would like to have 2-3 discuss and maybe some other smaller fish. Also, I think it would be neat to eventually breed them.

Next is the filtration. I have always done a sump and refugium for my reef tanks but people seem to go the route of hang on back or canister filters. Whats the best out there?

Are there any special needs for water chemistry? Low/high ph, high temperature, anything special. I know almost nothing!

Also would would be some good types of discus that don't get too large as I would like to keep this tank fairly small.

Any information would be greatly appreciated, I look forward to learning from yall! 8-)

Hollowman
Wed Feb 10, 2010, 11:37 PM
Hey guys I'm completely new to discus and know almost nothing about them. I'm looking for all information I can get.

You need to do some real homework before taking the plunge, use the 'search' facility to find specific info

I'll start out with what size tank do I need?

As big as possible. Discus need between 40-50 litres or 10 gallons per adult fish

I would like to have 2-3 discuss

Like I said, homework needs to be done. 2 fish are ok.. if you get a mated pair. 3 fish, no good. Discus are shoaling fish and are more secure in numbers. 5-6 fish is better....now think of the tank size!!
and maybe some other smaller fish.

if they are compatible, and you have room only

Also, I think it would be neat to eventually breed them.

Learn how to keep them properly first, walk before you run.

Next is the filtration. I have always done a sump and refugium for my reef tanks but people seem to go the route of hang on back or canister filters. Whats the best out there?