PDA

View Full Version : Discus feeding techniques

MadAnthony
Sun Dec 20, 2009, 06:04 PM
My tank is a 94 gallon corner tank, well planted with plastic plants and a gravel bottom. No under gravel filter.

I bought my Discus within the last two weeks, so I am new at this. I have 8 Discus in the 3-4" range. My water chem is good. I am doing three or more 25% changes per week.

Lots of water movement with two filters and a UV with a power head.

I have been feeding with two corner cones and yes, a couple of the more aggressive Discus have started to control them. Should I add food to the open water every few minutes and let them pick it from the water and out of the gravel instead of the cones? If so, how will I know if I am feeding them enough?

Lastly, Some fish have started spending all their time hiding in the back corner! I have looked these fish over closely and none have fin or tail nips at this time.

What should I be doing as far as feeding them goes and is there an answer to the hiding problem? Remove some of the plants?

Hollowman
Sun Dec 20, 2009, 08:15 PM
Fisrtly, welcome to the forum.

Ok, feeding, feed them as much as they can eat. You can feed them as much or as often as you like,(at this stage and size) but remove any uneaten food as it will get trapped in the gravel and rot, unless you keep on top of it. Discus are grazers, so will take food from the bottom readily.
I would remove the gravel and go for a sand substrate as you do not get the 'trapped' food scenario.

Secondly, do something about the water flow. No wonder the fish are hiding!!
Discus do not like a strong water flow, period. It will stress them and they will become ill. Direct the flow of water towards the sides of the tank, fit spraybars, or diffuse the flow with a sponge over the outlets.

Any photos ?

hth

Steve

MadAnthony
Mon Dec 21, 2009, 01:00 AM
Steve, Thanks for the welcome. I will post a pic. Thanks for being interested.