PDA

View Full Version : Shopping List

bradalj
Fri Jul 17, 2009, 07:35 AM
Hello,

I am new to the field of Discus keeping and am wondering if there is anywhere I can find that lists everything that I will need (other than decorations).

I am looking at a 6x2x2.5(H) tank with cabinet. I am going open top with (T5) lighting attached by brackets to the back of the aquarium and suspended 30cm or so above the aquarium.

I am after a sand bottom and will be using mainly rocks and driftwood with a few plants in the back corners.

I am thinking of an Eheim 2180 with the inbuilt heater.

I want all pipes plumbed through the bottom of the aquarium, should/can you ask for more in case more needs to be attached.

What else should I be doing?

What else should I be buying?

What amount of Discus would be ideal, it will be a community tank?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Robdog
Fri Jul 17, 2009, 12:16 PM
Sounds like you've got it sorted mate.
I wouldn't see a problem with 5 adult discus in that tank. You could probably put in more but....

bradalj
Tue Jul 28, 2009, 02:13 AM
I'm a bit unclued about the whole filtration thing. Having the canister filter as above, is that going to be enough, will I need two filters or anything like a pump?

ILLUSN
Tue Jul 28, 2009, 04:11 AM
6X2X2.5 is a big tank easily enough for 14 discus, persoanlly i think your 2080 will be at its limit, i have one on my 6x2x2 and i have a 2nd filter on the oposite end to help it out.

i wouldn't go open top cause discus jump.

everythine else sounds great I'm sure if you had the 2080 on one end and something like a 2217 on the other you wont have any problems.

Pheonix
Tue Jul 28, 2009, 05:17 AM
Maybe a UV sterilizer and double your filtration

mcloughlin2
Tue Jul 28, 2009, 06:10 AM
A UV sterilizer is of no real use in this situation.