PDA

View Full Version : im new to discus need advice !!!!!!!!

dom2106
Tue Jul 07, 2009, 04:27 PM
i have recently taken the plunge and have started a discus tank i have a aqua one ar620t 140liters aswell as the built in trickle filter i have added a tetratech ex700 i have set it up as a planted tank with a garvel substrate
i brought 6 young discus 6 weeks ago from a local breeder they are blue turks i know i will have to get rid of some as they get bigger but thought they would setle in better as a larger group i have 10 various tetras 4 corydors and 5 2inch clown loach the discus all are in great health and eat like pigs i am using the original lighting but this doesnt seem to show off there blue solour very well and ideas of what type of tubes i should be using and what would be a good background colour ???cheers :D :D

Hollowman
Tue Jul 07, 2009, 04:44 PM
Sounds like an overcrowded tank to me,

Young fish will do far better in a bare tank to get them to look and grow well. They need lots of big water changes and lots of good food to grow, so keeping them in a bare tank (even thin sand bottom) is far better than planted. With a planted tank all the uneaten food will rot between the gravel and lower your water quality to a point where the fish with, what we call stunt.
Use the search facitlity to research bare bottom tanks, and stunting fish.

hth

Steve

dom2106
Tue Jul 07, 2009, 05:28 PM
I seem 2 be getting mixed replys on the subject of a bare tank vs planted i when i first put the fish in the tank was bare they spent the first 2 weeks hiding in a corner and wouldnt eat i added some fake plants and a bit of bogwood and they started to venture out a bit more but still wouldnt eat and they wouldnt eat properly untill a added substrate and plants this was 2 and a half weeks later they have grown alot since then they were 2 1/2inches iwhen i got them the bigest is 4inch now???

Hollowman
Tue Jul 07, 2009, 05:37 PM