PDA

View Full Version : Planted Aquarium Backgrounds

Nic
Sat Apr 25, 2009, 10:43 AM
Hi all,
Thought id say gday first as i am new to the discus world.

Just wondering what is the best to use as a backdrop to a beautiful planted discus aquarium. The sheets of stuff look tacky and cheap and i wanted to get something that looked a bit more natural.

Styrofoam rock, moss walls or well......what else??

Any help appreciated

Cheers.

rwel4809
Sun Apr 26, 2009, 01:10 AM
If you do get a textured background, I suggest that you seal it in really well with silicon so that no dirt and water can get trapped behind.

Many of us go for a simple blue background, whether painted or vinyl adhesive.

It is best to keep things simple IMO

R.

Nic
Sun Apr 26, 2009, 02:57 AM
Thankyou.

Thought i would do a homestyle stryofoam job.
That way i can get exactly what i want.

I just have to make sure i do it properly.

Thanks. Nic

jluna
Sun Apr 26, 2009, 08:12 AM
i agree that most backgrounds are super tacky, but i found one which is tacky greenery on one side and a gorgeous slate wall on the other - it's a totally natural looking background and sets off the plants really well. you can see it in some of the shots here:

http://s4.photobucket.com/albums/y113/jase101/?start=all

it's on all my tanks but the photos marked 'splash tetras' probably show it best. next time you're in a petshop, just check both sides of the plastic backgrounds, as most are double-sided.

justin

Goerge_of_the_Jungle
Sun Apr 26, 2009, 09:17 AM
I agree with rwel, My discus tank has a light blue paint on the out side, brings out their colors better and helps prevent peppering - also, with rock walls, you use up water space that could be used to keep your discus happy - more water = healthier, happier discus.

On another note - jluna, those are some great pics. the fish in my community tank dont stay still long enough for me to take decent pics :P

Hollowman
Sun Apr 26, 2009, 09:32 AM