PDA

View Full Version : Discus and Water Changes

akhouri
Fri Apr 10, 2009, 09:40 AM
Hi,

I am new to owning Discus and was wondering how often do you need to do water changes. I live in Sydney Australia and was told by the aquarium where I purchased them to do water changes monthly. I have very good filtration system.

When doing water changes, do you need to prepare the water in advance by air rating it, or do you simply prepare the water in a bucket and add all the necessary stuff and pour it in the tank when doing the change. I have a second tank that I can use to prepare the water with a filter and heater.

How many discus would you keep in a 125 litre (32 gallon) tank?

Thank you for your help.

Cheers!

Hollowman
Fri Apr 10, 2009, 12:40 PM
akhouri, welcome to the forum.

The first and best bit of advice that any discus keeper needs, is NEVER listen to advice given in your local fish shop (LFS)

Water changes are THE most important thing you need to be prepared for when keeping these beautiful fish. Water changes of 30% water volume, 3 times a week is a general MINIMUM for these fish.

Water needs to be aged for 24 hours before use to stabilise the ph, and it is best to heat and airate it ready for use. What you use to hold your water before use is up tp you, I either use 25 ltr barrels or I have 5'X2'X2' tank.
I don't know what your water parameters are where you live, as I live in England, but you need to buy test kits for Ammonia, NitrIte, NitrAte and Ph. The proper temperature should be between 86-90f or 28-30C.
Don't go adding stuff to your water like the herbal remedies that lfs's like to push, they don't do anything, but you will need a de-chlorinator to aid neutrilising the chlorine in your tap water. Aging water for 24 hours will also help gas off the chlorine.