PDA

View Full Version : White spot on new fish- is it bad?

MidnightFisher
Fri Apr 03, 2009, 05:28 PM
I would say that I am still pretty new to discus. I have had a few that died, but two came though strong. I have had these for about a little over 4 months, and recently bought two from a local person. One is a solid purple and seems to have a little white spot that is kind of coming out of his body just behind and above one eye. I am not sure what this is, and don't want it to get to my other fish if it is something bad. I didn't notice this when I bought the fish. I have had the new ones for aobut 1 week. The other fish looked like it was on deaths door step, but seems to have come around. The one in question was very active from the get go, and eats very well. I tried to attach a picture, but don't know if it worked.

Any help would be apreciated.

I have been keeping the tank at 6.0 ph, and about 82 degrees.

ILLUSN
Fri Apr 03, 2009, 09:25 PM
any chance of a photo, sounds like a sick blue diamond to me

Hollowman
Fri Apr 03, 2009, 10:19 PM
Never seen a 'Purple' before, like ILLUSN, I'd say it is sick. What are your water parameters, test for Ammonia, NitrIte, NitrAte and Ph. Also what temperature is your tank at, and what is your water change regime.

These answers will help diagnose your problems. Photos as advised will also help.

H :)

MidnightFisher
Sat Apr 04, 2009, 04:18 AM
Can't tell it really looks purple here, color seems to change a lot. Will test the water tomorow.
http://www.discusforums.com/forum/album_pic.php?pic_id=1853

jesx57
Sat Apr 04, 2009, 07:49 AM
Hmmm. Dark eyes on discus are never good. Usually indicates something is wrong. Is your discus eating? What's its behaviour?

Hollowman
Sat Apr 04, 2009, 10:08 AM
It looks pretty ill to me, pinched and stunted. More better quality pics would be better,(if possible) and please post up all test results asap

MidnightFisher
Sat Apr 04, 2009, 02:54 PM