PDA

View Full Version : are these fish gonna be chill with discus

-TOBY-
Mon Mar 02, 2009, 08:19 AM
i am new to discus and am still setting up my new 4ft tank and was wondering are these fish gonna be ok with discus

5x clown loaches
1 or 2 black ghost knife fish not sure?
10x congo tetra (8 female two male)

if you think they are not great what can you reccomend then

BobbyBruce
Mon Mar 02, 2009, 08:51 AM
As far as water parameters go these fish should be okay.

Ghost fish are similar regions but can grow to 20 inches, congo tetras are an African fish and the clown loaches are Asian.

You should perhaps also consider the plant types you would put in (if any) and conditioners such as black water extract or the use of peat/sphagnum moss in your filters.

Not sure how the mix would work together in regards to parasites, diseases and temperaments.

Regards,

Bob

-TOBY-
Mon Mar 02, 2009, 09:09 AM
thanks bob i am currently using peat moss
and whatever plants look the coolest at the fish store

and by the sounds of it have a very multicultural tank planned

iro11a
Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:18 AM
IMO i would't be having any of these kept with discus clowns are preaty quick although u can get away with having them i did for a while but got sick of them punching holes in new shoots of plants,

BGKF my brother had one and got well over 30cm and i have never seen anyone have them with discus before although my bro did have it with angels and they seemed to go ok so maybe?

CONGO bit of a large tetra and might be a bit of a quick swimers for discus

As far as your tank goes a 4 ft tank should be alright with 5-6 discus depends how many litres you got.

Matt15
Mon Mar 02, 2009, 12:12 PM
Toby i've had both congo tetras and a ghost knife fish and can offer the following advice.

Congo Tetras