PDA

View Full Version : What type of discus are these?

mrelxr
Sat Feb 07, 2009, 11:31 PM
Can anybody tell me what type of discus these two are?

Goerge_of_the_Jungle
Sat Feb 07, 2009, 11:57 PM
I'm only new to keeping Discus, but i thikn the first one may be a 'Blue Discus" and the second one ... hmm .... possibly a "Red Turquoise Discus". But i will need some one to confrm.

mrelxr
Sun Feb 08, 2009, 12:30 AM
the blue one im thinking is an alenquer whilst the red i think is a leopard snake skin?

Goerge_of_the_Jungle
Sun Feb 08, 2009, 12:33 AM
Leopard snake skins generally have smaller markings.

Have a look at this link, it defines some strains of Discus, may help.

http://www.aquariumhobbyist.com/discus/strains/index.html

mrelxr
Sun Feb 08, 2009, 01:01 AM
good site, mine looks almost like the red leopard skin on the site, but as for the other one, still not sure but tending towards alenquer?

Goerge_of_the_Jungle
Sun Feb 08, 2009, 01:26 AM
alenquer, generally speaking, have stripes down their side.

check out this thread

http://www.discusforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7409

mrelxr
Sun Feb 08, 2009, 01:50 AM
mine does have stripes

Matt15
Sun Feb 08, 2009, 03:12 AM
The first picture is certainly a Cobalt.

The second looks like a type of Pigeon blood but given the photo its hard to confirm.

Jim Curtis
Sun Feb 08, 2009, 03:17 AM
The first picture is some sort of snakeskin, the second is a classic pigeon blood.

mrelxr
Tue Feb 10, 2009, 06:50 AM
anybody else have an opinion on what they are?

zar
Tue Feb 10, 2009, 07:21 AM
The first one can be called a blue snakeskin,
or just snakeskin if you like. Not a cobalt. Cobalts look more like blue diamonds with visible stressbars.
Your's has more than 8 or 9 stress bars which straight away means that it's some sort of snakeskin. Snakeskins have usually 12 or 13 if i remember correctly. The fine pattern on the face also indicates that it's a snakeskin.