PDA

View Full Version : My Leopard

Scat
Wed Dec 24, 2008, 12:11 AM
Hi :)

Ive watched this guy grow from a 5cm juvie and believe myself that he/she is turning into a spectacular discus and though i would get some opinions from people far more expeirienced than me :)

http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g148/scat35/leopardforcritique224-12-08.jpg
http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g148/scat35/leopardforcritique24-12-08.jpg

Your comments will help me understand if im on the right track when it comes to judging the quality of a discus.

Thanks
Craig

Scat
Tue Jan 13, 2009, 08:45 AM
No thoughts or critique anyone ?

Cheers :)
Craig

lpiasente
Tue Jan 13, 2009, 09:10 AM
This is the critique area and I am only a beginner myself so I have no idea on how this fish goes as a show fish but to my eye it is beautiful.

Matt15
Tue Jan 13, 2009, 11:27 AM
Craig looks like u have yourself a nice female there. In the photos she displays very well and has some solid colouring which is great.
Personally I don't like the oval football shape bodies which also make discus look alittle stunted (i've got a few like that myself and all of them are female too).
I'd say she'll bare you some great fry in the future should u choose to breed with her.

Note: I'm not an expert but an enthusiast....=)

Scat
Tue Jan 13, 2009, 12:28 PM
Hi Matt,

Thanks for the feedback, and im curious to how you have determined the sex of this fish ?

She ? is still very young as ive only had her 6 months so im assuming by the size i bought her at then she would still be under 1 year old and is still growing nicely.

I can see the football shape more now that you have pointed it out although this is more apparant in pictures than looking into the tank !

I was trying to look at general forehead shape(smoothness) and good uniform colour.

Will have a very nice pair of penang eruptions to put up for critique once i pick them up this Sunday :)

Cheers
Craig

Hollowman
Tue Jan 13, 2009, 06:56 PM