PDA

View Full Version : Need help for my beautiful pair

selina
Sun Dec 14, 2008, 12:33 PM
Dear all,

I bought two adult size(4 inches) and two young disus (2 inches) two weeks ago and put them into 37 gallon tank. Lucky me, these two adult-size became a pair and suddently lag their legs on the vertical drift wood. I lost their first eggs, they were all gone. This is the second time, I am sure those legs were fertilized since the color turned into orange, not white. I am just a beginner and try to protect the eggs, so please help me for those following:

q1.I didn't remove the other young discus out of my tank. They seem nice, and are playing around with each other happily. They are not interesting in those eggs and parents. Should I really remove those young couple out during the spawn period? If I could get the fly, will it turn out the parents eat them trying to protect from those young couple or the young couple come to eat them?

q2. My filter system is Marineland mutli-stage filter for up to 50 gallons. So my question is should I turn the filer off during the spawn period and after they became a free-swim fry. I am so afraid of the fry may be so weak and tiny to be sunk into the filter. Is that possible? I want to keep water clean, so what should I do?

q3, The female has done great jobs for being always stay next to the eggs. Male just swim around, however, he started to eat female's fin as approaching the eggs. He didn't eat those eggs, just eat her fins!! I could feel the female feels so painful, but she still tries to stay as nearest as the eggs and try to calm the male down (touch his body, "kiss' him, not peck him).I saw her fins has be broken, how should I do? The male stills know he is the father for guarding the eggs, cleaning the spawn area, scaring other 2 young discus away, but he just treats the female so badly after she lag the eggs. Please tell me how to help the mother?