PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Questions

leezard954
Tue Oct 07, 2008, 04:11 PM
Hi, all.

I've been keeping fish for a couple of years now and I'm ready to take on something new. I've been researching and researching and researching discus keeping and I've found LOTS of conflicting information so I have come to the source! :-)

I have a 55 gallon with a wet/dry filtration system that a friend gave me. I thought I could put together a great discus tank. Here are my thoughts:

STOCKING - I would like to include (discus of course), a dither fish like a tetra, bottom fish such as cories and/or a whiptail.
* Is this a good combination?
* I've read discus should be a mated paired or schooled. Are 4 OK in a 55? I've read 10 gal per fish, and I think 5 plus the others would be too much of a bio-load.
* If this stocking works, in what #s?

SETUP - I've read a few different things about plants/vs. no plants. I was going to heavily plant one side of the tank and use flourite as a substrate.

CARE - I've read many different conflicting articles regarding care. I'm already in the practice of weekly doing 50% water changes (more like 65-70%) with a light gravel vac via the python and a deep gravel vac every other week. Will this effort be enough or is it like some of the scarier articles I've seen where there are 50% water changes twice daily?!

WATER PARAMETERS - I, of course, keep track of ammonia, nitrites and nitrates with liquid reagent test kits, but I've never tested for water hardness and pH. I understand that messing with pH can be very very messy if not fully understood. How important are water hardness and pH, really? I've seen greatly conflicting articles on this as well.

I really like the idea of keeping discus. They are BEAUTIFUL, but I want to know what I'm doing to get it right or not even start.

Thank you very much in advance for your help!

Hollowman
Tue Oct 07, 2008, 06:00 PM
Hi Lee, how long have you got??? that was a loaded post Phew!!! :D