PDA

View Full Version : sick discus

lpiasente
Wed Jul 30, 2008, 09:24 PM
Hi, I am new to keeping discus and I have had them for about 2 months. All my water conditions are good but I still have one sick fish (and I hope no more to come). She had been hiding for a few days but would come out when I approached the tank and also she is still eating. She is panting heavily and only one gill is working. There are no other pysical symptoms that I can see. She is laying on her side resting on the driftwood, also her colour is still good. Any ideas? Thanks in advance Leanne

Hollowman
Wed Jul 30, 2008, 09:33 PM
Hi Leanne,
Can I ask how long the tank has been cycled?
What are the test readings of your water?
How many discus do you have?
Is the tank planted or bare bottom (BB)?
What is the tank temp?

I would initially add an airstone to up the oxygen in the water. It does sound like Flukes, but could be a number of things.
I would get some Prazi-pro and treat as per instructions. Some might advocate a PP (Potassium Permanganate)treatment, which would also work. Both can be bought from your lfs (local fish shop)

hth Hollowman :)

Make sure you let us know how you get on. :)

lpiasente
Wed Jul 30, 2008, 10:28 PM
Hi and thanks for the quick reply. The tank already has a large airstone. Nitrate, nitrite and ammonia all 0 and ph is 6.6. GH is 12 and I cant get a reading on kh Gravel and planted with 20-30% water changes and gravel vac twice a week, water aged with seachem prime. The tank is 12 months old but I changed to a 1600 litre canister filter 6 months ago. The tank is a standard 3ft with 3 very small discus 1 small and 3small-med. I am upsizing to a 5x2x2 in early November I also have some bottom feeders.

lpiasente
Wed Jul 30, 2008, 10:43 PM
And tank temp 30 but it does drop down overnight to 28-29

ILLUSN
Thu Jul 31, 2008, 12:06 AM
id be thinking gill flukes at this stage as your water seems fine, a 1-2C drop at night wont hurt the fish.

lpiasente