PDA

View Full Version : Astaxanthin+Spirulina+Cyclop+ProMore+ProGrowth Over the Top?

DIY
Sun Jul 27, 2008, 12:47 PM
Hi all,

After Reading MAC's excellent info on Astaxanthin, I have been putting Naturose in my beefheart mix for a few months now.

I also have read about the benefits of Spirulina so I've been adding that as well.

Now I've bought some ProMore and ProGrowth from Norto and want to add that

And I've also read about Cyclops as an additive (supposed to be high in Astaxanthin, amino acids etc) so I've just ordered some CyclopEeze....

I need to make a new batch of beefheart soon so here's what I will be making

> 1 large oxheart, heavily trimmed of any sinew and fat. Usually ends up ~400 grams worth after trimming
> 500gm frozen raw prawn (no tails and uncooked)
> leaves from 2 large bunches of spinach lightly steamed
> 2 medium carrots steamed
> 2 tablespoons spirulina powder
> teaspoon Naturose astaxanthin
> teaspoon or so of CyclopEeze (if it arrives in time..)
> 1/2 tablespoon ProGrowth
> 1/2 tablespoon ProMore
> 3 or 4 cloves of Garlic
> tablespoon or so of various dry foods crushed including Krill, earthworm flake etc
> 1 Vitamin capsule (I might not bother adding one this time...)

Is that over the top with additives?

Any suggestions for other things to add? I have been using the above mix minus the ProMore, ProGrowth and Cyclops for a while and and the discus love it!

I don't add any fish due to handling difficulties (I'm allergic to the flesh :roll: )

Merrilyn
Sun Jul 27, 2008, 03:30 PM
Looks good to me.

My current recipe is pretty much the same DIY except for the addition of fish fillets.

DIY
Mon Jul 28, 2008, 03:13 AM
Thanks Merrilyn,

I see some overseas enthusiasts sometimes add banana - has anyone tried it?

I'm worried banana might cloud the tank

ILLUSN
Mon Jul 28, 2008, 06:43 AM