PDA

View Full Version : ? Protozoa in discus

ILLUSN
Thu Jul 10, 2008, 01:42 AM
I thought I'd put up a few pics for you all.

These pics i snapped at work using my new $20K capturing scope at work.

One of my fish has been passing fluffly white stools, this is what i found when i did a squash prep of the stools.

Andrew, any chance you can ID it for me? I assume the 2 flat regions of the top and bottom of the cell wall are where flagella attach. The only photos I can find of Spironucleus vortens are 3D electron micrographs.

I'll try and post more pics of other bugs as i find them

DIY
Thu Jul 10, 2008, 03:39 AM
I have no experience with microscopes (not yet anyway) but this thread on another forum has scope pictures of something that looks very similar - could it be the same?

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?t=62828&highlight=microscope

Mod's please remove this post if it's inappropriate to link to the "other" forum :wink:

Here's a link describing capillaria, and a photo of the worm with eggs inside, the description is "typical barrel-shaped eggs with a polar plug on each end"

http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/FA091

ILLUSN
Thu Jul 10, 2008, 03:56 AM
Looks like them DIYjunkie, that would explain why i couldn't find the organisum in my protozoa referance material LOL.

they just had a dose of big L sunday night (I guess thats why I cant see any adult worms) will have to give a repeat treatment every 2 weeks I think to get rid of them?

DIY
Thu Jul 10, 2008, 04:13 AM
Sounds reasonable to me, eggs take 3 weeks to develop at 68-73°F, so maybe 2 - 3 more treatments at 2 week intervals to be sure?

Pretty cool , thanks for posting the pictures - I didn't get the Microscope on evilbay I was looking at earlier, but this thread makes me still consider getting one!

ILLUSN
Thu Jul 10, 2008, 05:53 AM
Tank specs are 4x2x2 (430L)
filtration eheim 2028, eheim 2228, 36w jebo UV DIY FBF (70cm tall 3kg of sand) temp 30C 50% water change daily

NH3/NH4 0
NO2 0
NO3 <5
kH~1