PDA

View Full Version : What price range do breeding size fish go for

Sicj
Wed Jun 04, 2008, 01:58 PM
As a beginner i do not want to be sucked in and pay more than what a fish is worth.

I just want to know what price range i can expect to pay for breeding size fish.

I have seen pairs go for between $200 and $650

Is that common?

Am i better off buying juvies instead of adult fish.

John

cityguy
Wed Jun 04, 2008, 02:31 PM
As a beginner i do not want to be sucked in and pay more than what a fish is worth.

I just want to know what price range i can expect to pay for breeding size fish.

I have seen pairs go for between $200 and $650

Is that common?

Am i better off buying juvies instead of adult fish.

JohnUr in Australia, it would be probably a little expensive there, yes 200-650.. Here in India a grade A pair costs about 300-400 US$..

cityguy
Wed Jun 04, 2008, 02:32 PM
Sorry, did not see your other qs.. I think juvies are more difficult to take care in all aspects :cry: , so if you have the budget, go for a nice adult pair :D

samir
Wed Jun 04, 2008, 03:40 PM
you are better off buying a group of juveniles

cityguy
Wed Jun 04, 2008, 05:36 PM
Follow this link and carefully read the chapter "Buying Discus". You will have a better idea about what to buy and what you really want to buy..

http://www.aquarticles.com/articles/breeding/Gallagher_Discus1.html

It is a write up by Peter Gallagher, titled: My Experiences with Discus. First published in May 1990
by NSW Cichlid Society, Australia.

Hollowman
Thu Jun 05, 2008, 07:25 AM
For someone who is going to be new to discus, I would strongly recommend starting with a group of good juves. Start with fish at about 3" buy 6 if you can, any smaller number then you might get bullying. I have paid £60 (UK) for 3" 'grade A' fish. Do not buy cheap fish.