PDA

View Full Version : Discus hatching

pringle
Sun May 25, 2008, 02:32 PM
Hi All,

I'm a beginner in keeping discus. I've had my discuses for about a year now (got them when they were 5cm). At this stage, I am in the midst of home renovations, and as such I have had to move my 4ft tank into the kitchen. I did this by draining about 4/5 of the tank, and carefully moving the tank. Imagine my surprise come friday night when I found my pair of discus laying eggs behing the back of an anubias leaf. I guess the stress in the moving of the tank did not really bothered them ~ the massive water change must have triggered this.

At this stage most of the eggs have hatched (I would say greater than 95% of them) and the parents are showing normal behaviour. The fries are sticking themselves onto the leaf and if the get detached a parent is always there to put them back in their place.

My concern are the other inhabitants in my heavily planted tank. I have 4 bloodfin tetras; 4 sterbais; 1 bristlenose; 3 siamese algae eaters and 3 other discuses (apart from the parents). I am guessing that it is not the best idea to move the breeding pair and their offsprings to a separate tank at this stage (is this right?). What are the chances of survival should I leave the breeding pair and their offspring in the community tank. : (

Any advice would be helpful. I've got some photos which I will try to upload as soon as I can.

Cheers,
Pringle

dwilder
Sun May 25, 2008, 09:55 PM
the wigglers usually get eaten in the community tank not sure iwould bother moving the babies just remember once they start breeding they usally keep it up for awhile so move the pair to there own tank and you'll have a better chance of survival the next time

ILLUSN
Mon May 26, 2008, 12:18 AM
what strain are the discus? browns and turks have raised fry in a comunity tank (usually with great difficulty), other strains have more trouble.