PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to keep discus

jesx57
Fri Apr 25, 2008, 08:08 AM
Hello everyone,

I've been keeping fish for close to 5 years now, and I'm thinking of giving discus a go. I've recently upgraded to a 45 gallon high (91x51x38) and want to keep discus. I currently have a bristlenose catfish, 2 rams, 2 glowlights, a black neon and a rummy nose tetra. I have been doing relentless research on these fish, and all the opinions are confusing. I was aiming to get three juvenille discus (bout 4cm) to raise. I've heard they need about 10 gallons of water each, so this tank would be big enough? I was thinking of getting another bristlenose cat, 2 more rummys and neons, and a glowlight for equal numbers. My tank (should) then be at it's full capacity. I am prepared to do more than one water change a week (preferably two) and provide a wide range of frozen and live foods. Can I please have some opinions on this and experiences with this number of discus? I know it is recommended to keep at least four, but I don't have the space to do this (but I'd still like to try my hand at these fish).

(Wow, that's a wall of text!).

ILLUSN
Fri Apr 25, 2008, 01:38 PM
I'd go 4 juvis between 2&1/2-3inches in size, they'll be fine with 2x water changes of around 30-50% weekly.

those will be fine with your desired fishload.

as for diet, base it mainly on a frozen beefkeart or seafood mix with a good quality flake or granual to balance it up and use live brine shrimp or freeze dried worms as a treat (say 2-4x a week)

jesx57
Sat Apr 26, 2008, 07:11 AM
Thanks a heap! :D I have plenty of time to do water changes, so that's not a worry. ow long will I be able to keep the discus in the tank before they outgrow it? It's 50cm high. BTW, I have a 800L/hr canister filter if this helps.

ILLUSN
Sat Apr 26, 2008, 02:14 PM