PDA

View Full Version : QUICK HELP

Addicted2discus
Sun Mar 30, 2008, 09:36 AM
We have just arrived home to find one of our discus floating around and turning black.. She is still breathing but fingding it hard to keep upright. The other 6 seem ok however when we moved in front of the tank they reacted very scared hitting the walls of the tank.. We have done a 50% water change, put fungus cure in and have taken out all the plants. Please help!!! what do we do????

Tam
Sun Mar 30, 2008, 09:40 AM
Im no expert but give us more information. U really need to test your water, temperature, pH, ammonia, nitrate, nitrite. No point in changing 50% water if you don't know what the cause of one fish floating belly up mate.

why put fungus medication in?

Tam

Addicted2discus
Sun Mar 30, 2008, 10:02 AM
Its obvious that our fish have the plague.... Put fungus cure in because the first website said too..
PH 6.0, Nitrite 0, Ammonia 2.0, Nitrate 10

TW
Sun Mar 30, 2008, 10:22 AM
Hi, like Tam, I'm no expert either. But the ammonia reading 2.0 is likely to be a big part of the issue. Good luck with them. I hope some of the experts here can help you along.

Tam
Sun Mar 30, 2008, 10:23 AM
Ammonia should be 0, if you have Prime or something simialar that detoxifies Ammo then use it. Increase oxygen if you have an extra air pump. Seems like your filter isnt cycled properly/ or a Ammonia spike.
To me you Ph is abit low i would personally keep my ph around 6.5 to 6.8.

my 2cents

Tam

Addicted2discus
Sun Mar 30, 2008, 10:29 AM
We've had our tank for over 6months now with all 8 discus and have never had a problem. The ammonia is never that high.. We havent changed anything. The discus that is sich has some spots on her that look like peeling skin??????
What should we do??? We use cycle everytime we water change!

axl
Sun Mar 30, 2008, 10:38 AM
you need to get your ammonia down to 0, that is very crucial, some how you have had a ammonia spike.

TW
Sun Mar 30, 2008, 10:38 AM