PDA

View Full Version : Starting a new tank!

rogue
Thu Dec 09, 2004, 08:56 AM
I have been running a 1000 litre salt water reef tank for about 18 months now and am truly bitten by the fish keeping bug!
I have just purchased a 3ft X 14inch x 20inch tank which I would like to set up for discus.
My equipment is as follows:
2 x 30watt aquaglo fleuro's in an aqua one housing
Fluval 402 cannister filter
Hagen Tronic 150watt heater
The questions I have are:
1) is this equipment list ok?
2) is the fillter media that comes with the fluval ok?
3) what substrate should I be using for discuss?
4) how many discus can I keep in this size tank? (keeping in mind that I will be purchasing 3-5" size fish)
Any help I can get would be greatly appreciated

weird
Thu Dec 09, 2004, 12:38 PM
you will be pushing past 4 adult discus in a 3 foot tank ... discus get big ... in a round sort of sense ... I am growing 6 juvs in a similar size tank but having serious thoughts about them when they reach maturity in such a tank. Will need to do plenty of water changes !

I think your equipment is fine , except the fluvals usually come with heaps of carbon which you might want to replace with something like biomax biological filter media , as you may have to medicate a few times.

No substrate when starting out, go bare bottom ... but driftwood with plants very very nice as a mid way for a planted tank.

rogue
Thu Dec 09, 2004, 02:17 PM
Thanx for the reply weird!
Have just been doing some reading and it is not recommended to keep a group of less then six, for aggression reasons. Was thinking of maybe just going for a pair and aiming for a community type tank. How easy are mated pairs to buy? Do some breeders sell them?
Thanx :)

kevkoi
Thu Dec 09, 2004, 02:46 PM
Where are u located for starters?

ctvu
Thu Dec 09, 2004, 10:39 PM
Hi

If you are in Syd, you are lucky then, talk to kevkoi, you can't go wrong with his fish

Good Luck

Trebs
Thu Dec 09, 2004, 10:53 PM