PDA

View Full Version : A few apisto questions

Sildan
Thu Mar 06, 2008, 09:02 AM
Hi guys,

I have mainly been into Australian and New Guinea fish since I stopped keeping goldfish years ago and thanks to my 2 pairs of Bolivian Rams, I have developed a keen interest in Dwarf Cichlids. I am a real novice when it comes to Apistos besides knowing they prefer soft acidic water and plenty of shelter (rocks,logs and plants) so before I start stocking my tanks with fish I thought i'd better consult with some experts.

Currently I have a 30L fry tank, 2' planted and 5'x14"x18" planted tank and am curious about a couple of things.

With the 5' tank the fish consist of the smaller tetras (neon,lemon,glowlight,phantom), some blue-eyes, a few peacock gudgeon, a couple of gold rams, couple of otos and BN and a few shrimp (not sure how many rarely see them)

The 2' tank has a pair of juvenile convicts that are soon to be relocated since they have demolished the substrate and uprooted a few plants.

So my questions are, would it be a bad idea to have a couple of trios or 2 pairs of different species apistos in the 5' tank?

How many apistos could I put into the 5' or th 2' tank to avoid excessive agression between females?

Thanks in advance guys

Th0mas
Thu Mar 06, 2008, 11:15 AM
IMO, the 2 ft can host no more than 2 pairs, while the 5 ft can host more as there's plenty of room for them. So a trio or 2 pairs in the 5 footer shouldn't be any issue.

So long as the water is nice and soft, most apisto species will be fine in that condition. However watch out for pH crash if the water is too soft.

Bubbles
Fri Mar 07, 2008, 05:05 AM
Hey Sildan,

Welcome to the forum - great to hear of yet another Apisto fan.

ThOmas & Andrew are the best people to talk to about apisto's.