PDA

View Full Version : What to feed my discus?

dandaman352
Mon Feb 18, 2008, 08:30 PM
Hey, I'm relatively new to discus, I did alot of research before I got them and put them in my 75 gallon fish tank. They have a bunch of friendly community tank mates that some would argue should not be in there but they all get along fine (tri color, silver dollars, irredsecnt sharks). Anyway I noticed they are extremely picky and even if they can get to alot of the food they just show no interest. But when I drop in bloodworms they go nuts and out-eat all the other fish. I've had no luck with beefheart, mysis shrimp , pellet (hikari gold ciclid) or flake food.

I saw hikari makes a special frozen discus food. wanted to know if anyone tried that yet. Or if anyone has any ideas on what else would help?( I want their diet to vary)

snakeskin
Mon Feb 18, 2008, 09:04 PM
i feed my discus a mixture of bloodworms, brine shrimp and discus dinner twice a day. And they love that.

AHC
Mon Feb 18, 2008, 09:42 PM
I feed mine a with bloodworms, tetra bits, Frozenshrimp, discus dinner and 3 types of beef heart receipes i have made - all on Alternative days. First BH receipe consists of a little bit of BH, Prawns, Salmon, Spinich, Carrots, Peas, Sprinula powder, tetra bits, Garlic, crushed up vitamins and Gelatine to hold it. The second is BH, Scallops, Peas, Carrots, Spirulina Powder and the Third is just Chopped up finely BH. It may take a little while to get them onto the beefheart, as with all other food they may not be used to, but when they do they will love you for it. Try Seachem Garlic Gaurd in the food or put a little bit in the water a few minutes before you feed them. Its better to keep at it.

Oh, and its best to mix up a batches with some Prazi, Levamisole etc and label it so that you can use it when you need it. See threads on this in the medication section of the forum :)

dandaman352
Tue Feb 19, 2008, 12:28 AM
whats discus dinner?

AHC
Tue Feb 19, 2008, 01:36 AM