PDA

View Full Version : how often to use flourish excel?

boost.puppy
Thu Feb 07, 2008, 07:06 AM
Hey guys, I have been using flourish now for about 3 months, my plants look great & having lots of little off shoot babies... but I want to get them to that "wow" factor & waiting to save for my co2 upgrade, I decided to get Flourish excel. it says on the packaging to use one capful per 10gal (40l) and it will last 1-2 months... however it also states that not to add any more until you have done a 50% waterchange... in which case I would do within two weeks (I do 40%-50% weekly as I had a nitrate problem & german Blue rams) so how often should I top up? every 2 weeks or 1-2 months???

I don't want to overdose, but I definately don't want to dilute it, otherwise buying it is pointless.

I was thinking of getting Flourish iron too, has any one used this product before?
I'm finding I sometimes get some brown tinges on the outside of my more leafy plants (java ferns amazon swords & anubias *spelling?*)

I have also bought a new globe for my tank with is 12000 kelvin (my dad who has marine says thats really weak) will this be enough? it's only a baby tank (2 ft but it's extra tall *20inch*)

happygirl65
Fri Feb 08, 2008, 08:41 PM
Hi boost.puppy!

I will share some of my experience with plants and hope it helps. I am sure there are some more experienced people here who can jump in as well :) I have been doing this for over a year but am still learning as I go.

I think in order to properly advise you we need some more info about your tank. :)

So if you could post the size of your tank, (2 ft x 20 in tall but how wide is it or how many gallons is it?

How many watts is the bulb you mentioned?