PDA

View Full Version : Filters a MUST for raising discus?

albatrozz
Mon Jan 21, 2008, 12:26 PM
Hi guys,

I'm kinda new to raising discus, i have 11 discus in my 45gal tank and have had them for about 8 months, for sum reason they havent grown in this tank but instead SHRUNK! I think its coz that its planted so i got a new tank and ive moved half the discus there, but my question is are filters a MUST for keeping the discus? Filters are really expensive here in Australia so im trying to save smoe money since ive spent thousands on the fish/tank/resources/food.

Please help me and answer ASAP

Matt15
Mon Jan 21, 2008, 02:33 PM
Are you serious?

Filters in my opinion are a MUST. You can't have biological filtration without a cycled filter. Canister filters are certainly the best to use and are very inexpensive these days.

Have alook at a page from one of this sites sponsors
http://www.aquariumproducts.com.au/external_canister_filters.php
Aqua Nova NCF-600 is only $69.00. Thats very cheap but I personally wouldn't recommend it for long term use (more than 1yr). But you get what you pay for. It will certainly do a good job, but the filter rings will ware in time (1year).

I would also say that having 11 discus in a 45gal tank is alittle over crowded so its good that you have split them up.

albatrozz
Mon Jan 21, 2008, 03:12 PM
oh alright, but filters here in sydney fish shops/pet shops go in the hundreds usually $200+. I'll try look around for a cheap filter online but does anyone know how and why my discus has shrunk? I mean the juvies i bought at 5-6cm's havent shrunk but they literally havent grown, and the 2 "CD" sized leopard/melon have shrunk maybe 1 or 2 cm's in size. Is there something wrong with my tank? or my food?

djceri_g
Mon Jan 21, 2008, 03:16 PM
this means they have been stunted. With bad water quality and food they wont grow. have you noticed their eyes looks big compared to their body?