PDA

View Full Version : STILL BEING BULLIED

paulyer
Sat Dec 15, 2007, 05:24 PM
I wrote a short time ago about my discus being bullied. I followed the advice but a couple of weeks later and it's getting worse. The bully is following this one individual and it is unrelenting. I have had to net the bully because I have no other tank as an emergency method. The other one is close to dying. It lays on it's side in the corner of the tank. And as soon as it moves the bully attacks. Any idea's please.

SusieQ
Sat Dec 15, 2007, 11:29 PM
Hi... I'm no expert but....
From my experience I can tell you sometimes you just get a bully discus. Yes discus have a pecking order and that is normal. But I had one that I had in a community tank before I switched to all discus and when I put the new discus in (4 of them) the old one bullied them to the point where he would not let them eat or move hardly. I removed the bully and gave him a time out in a plastic bin with the tank water and heater and sponge filter. Meanwhile I re arranged everything in the 72 gallon tank. I tried this three times and each time he went back to bullying. So I gave him to a friend to be the lone discus in her tank and he is a happy camper and so are the rest of my fish. I later added more discus with no problems.
Is your's bullying everyone or just the one fish???
If it's just the one fish, get that poor fish out of there and into a qt tank... it doesn't have to be a glass tank, it can be a plastic bin etc... it needs a stress free place to recoup with heat and clean water and either lots of water changes or a seeded sponge filter.. Someone more knowledgeable can tell you whether to add salt and about temps etc.