PDA

View Full Version : CaribSea Eco COmplete vs ADA Aqua Soil

Alex Cheng
Sat Dec 15, 2007, 01:51 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm setting up a planted 4x2x2 tank with mainly low grassy cover. I'm trying to decide what substrate to use. Has anyone compared Eco Complete and ADA?

I'm planning to grow mainly HC at this point.

Alex

revkev
Sat Dec 15, 2007, 10:27 PM
I have tried ADA and have had problems with it breaking up making the tank cloudy so changed to Eco-complete with no problems. Do a price check on both.
substrate calculator site
http://www.plantedtank.net/substratecalculator.html

AQUAMX
Sun Dec 16, 2007, 07:20 AM
Hi

I have been using ADA substrates for 2 years and have never encountered the clouding issue as described above.

Having grown aquatic plants for approx 15 years now i have never used anything as good. Its clean and easy to use and looks fantastic.

I have not used eco complete but hear it is very good also. I think you would be happy with either substrate.

ktakeshi
Sun Dec 16, 2007, 12:37 PM
i have used ada substrate too, and breaking up and being cloudy was never an issue

axl
Mon Dec 17, 2007, 02:32 AM
Hi,
what depth should we aim for when using these products and where is the cheapest place to buy ada substrate.

Proteus
Mon Dec 17, 2007, 04:12 AM
Wouldnt waste my money on ADA after seeing several tanks that always remained cloudy (some of which were documented and photos are on this forum, along with other forums). I would rather a tank that you can just leave and have good plant growth over something that needs lots of water changes, too many unused nutrients etc etc

On the other hand I have used Eco-Complete with no issues at all and would recommend it over ADA anyday.

where is the cheapest place to buy ada substrate

Those words dont go together in Australia... cheap here means ripped off.

ktakeshi
Mon Dec 17, 2007, 04:24 AM
still the same reply, i have used it for over 2 years now, and it has never break up or gone cloudy on me,