PDA

View Full Version : Eheim Madness

Zimby
Fri Nov 23, 2007, 09:18 PM
Hi Guys

I must just say that this forum is amazing!!!

Now to business, i'm looking to purchase a eheim filter for a tank i am buying
6ft x 80cm x 60cm - 874 ltrs

Price is not really an option as i'd rather wait longer and get better, than rush and buy bad.

I'm tossing up between eheim 2180 and (2 x 2078)

Will the 500w heater in the 2180 be sufficient on its own? what happens when i'm cleaning the filter and theres no heater.

The reason i've included the 2078's is that i plan to remotely monitor the aquarium via digital sensors connected to a serial port on a PC.

I'm a network engineer by trade and want to intergrate electronics more with aquariums.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also who are the cheapest tanks retailers in Brisbane?

Cheers

Denis

ILLUSN
Fri Nov 23, 2007, 11:26 PM
WoW that would do it!
if the tank is indoors the 2180 should be ok, the heater in it is good for over 1000L.

when vleaning the filter will br unpluged for 15min max (these things are nice and easy to clean) 874L is not going to loose much heat in 15min (i'd be suprised if lost more the 1C after 2 hours, thats ALOT of thermal mass).

put up DIY when you sort out the computer monitoring, soonds excellent.

taksan
Fri Nov 23, 2007, 11:40 PM
Hi Guys

I must just say that this forum is amazing!!!

Now to business, i'm looking to purchase a eheim filter for a tank i am buying
6ft x 80cm x 60cm - 874 ltrs

Price is not really an option as i'd rather wait longer and get better, than rush and buy bad.

I'm tossing up between eheim 2180 and (2 x 2078)

Will the 500w heater in the 2180 be sufficient on its own? what happens when i'm cleaning the filter and theres no heater.

The reason i've included the 2078's is that i plan to remotely monitor the aquarium via digital sensors connected to a serial port on a PC.

I'm a network engineer by trade and want to intergrate electronics more with aquariums.