PDA

View Full Version : thanks for the support

DiscusWorld
Mon Sep 17, 2007, 12:06 AM
Hi everyone, Since our article on Discus in the Aquarium Keeper Australia Magazine, we have been inundated with phone calls from well wishers both from retailers and the public alike. I would just like to say thank you for all the support the scale of wish was totally unexpected. Our warmest thanks.

Philip from Discus World Australia

samir
Mon Sep 17, 2007, 12:00 PM
ah so it was your article. i was thinking of mentioning it on the forum. I've been keeping my fish at similar ph's to your's for the past 6 months, mid to low 5's with very good results. The recent breeding pairs are at around 4.5.
welcome to the forum, feels good to know that I'm not crazy :lol: :lol: :lol: LOL

DiscusWorld
Tue Sep 18, 2007, 11:17 AM
Hi Simir, You know it could be we are just both crazy? LOL. In my opinion people have so much trouble with discus because of their high ph. We never have to treat external parasites with medication as none proliferate well at a low ph. We too drop the ph to 4.5 to induce fish to pair off. Most spawns will be successful down to 4. A ph of 2 seems to be the bottom survival limit,strangely red based discus tolerate lower ph more comfortably than blues. Heckles usually spawn unsuccessfully or the young die much above 4.8. I have two friends who have successfully bred Altum Angels both tell me the ph must never go above 5. or Altums can sicken and never breed successfully,hopefully we can spread the word.

Philip, Discus World Australia

Merrilyn
Tue Sep 18, 2007, 11:48 AM
Welcome to the forum Philip.

Did you say breeding altums and breeding heckels ????????????

Mate I'm all ears. I'll listen to anything you have to say.

samir
Tue Sep 18, 2007, 02:32 PM
I haven't tried 4 but I'll do it for the next pair.