PDA

View Full Version : How to reduce Nitrate?? Please Help!

discusbarlas
Mon Aug 06, 2007, 05:25 PM
Gentlemen!

Good day, My name is Raheel and I am from UAE. Firstly I am new to this forum and I am so happy being here after reading a lot of valuable information regardindg discus keeping. I have been in this hobby from the last 10 years but have been keeping hard water fish like lake mallawi, oscars, JD, and some other fish as such. So I am a little new to soft water but have a lot of likely towards keeping discus.

So i brought 6 baby discus of 2 inch each and 6 baby angle fish 4-5 days back. I am using SERA Qucik test to check my water paremeters. My water reading are as follows:

Ph = 6.4
kh = 0
GH = 7d
NO2 = 0
NO3 = 50-60
Temp = 28degree

I am having Ehem Classic external filter + overhead sme filter using power head + Gravel filter using power head.

My tank has been setup 4 months ago and every thing is properly cycled.
Now my question to ask you is that how to reduce the nitrate level in the water to 0 and how to reduce the GH to a better levels. I have tried to put TETRA Nitrate Minus in the water to see if it works but it didnt work. I do water changes every week around 25-30%. My tank is 40 gallon. Is there anything else which I should add in my external filter to reduce nitrate. I am using Sponges + Carbon + bioballs + ceramics in the filter.

As I said the 6 baby discus are doing good but some time they turn black and six on the gravel and tilt to one side as well. But some time I see them moving fine in the tank. Is this because of the bad nitrate level or anything to do with the GH?

Please guys give me a tip to control this problem quickly before I may loose them which I dont want to because I love discus a lot.

discusbarlas
Mon Aug 06, 2007, 07:08 PM
So many Views and no reply yet? is there a doctor in the house? :)

taksan
Mon Aug 06, 2007, 11:26 PM
Easy! Do larger more frequent water changes and increase your KH to at least 3 or 4