PDA

View Full Version : Discus breeding tube(s) visible

zar
Thu Aug 02, 2007, 04:54 AM
Hi all,

i've been keeping discus for probably 6 months now, got into it accidentally, went to buy some plants and got some discus as well :), thats how it all started. I have to congratulate to the contributors to this forum, its a great source of info for ppl like me who are new to discus, well done guys.

Here's my question:

I bought 2 turqs abt. 5 months ago, they were abt.6cm each, now one of them is abt. 13cm and the other probably 14 or 15cm long(with fin).
They usually swim together in the tank, they also might be doing what others here describe as the "bow", they flicker their dorsal fins every now and then (i thought that was some parasite actually). Also i remember reading that during breeding time, the female shows only its back 3 stripes and the ones at the front are not visible. this is also happening.
yesterday, both had their tubes out, one of them was definitely a female, not sure what the other one had, the tube was a bit smaller but not sure if it was the "v" shape.
Now, is this common behaviour that their tubes are out or do they want to breed? Would these discus be too young or physically too small to want to breed? To me they still look small when i compare them with other discus in LFS so i really dont know whats happening...
Any advice would be appreciated.

thanks

Merrilyn
Thu Aug 02, 2007, 06:51 AM
Welcome to the forum Zar.

They may not breed just at the moment, but it's certainly a sign that they are reaching maturity.

You must be doing everything right to keep your fish happy :P

Just keep doing everything the same, and you will eventually be rewarded with a spawn.

It takes them a while to get the hang of things, and remember that females mature earlier than males, so I let them spawn at least three times in the community tank before I separate them off to a breeding tank of their own.