PDA

View Full Version : New Discus.

Matt_Cardiff_07
Sun Jul 01, 2007, 01:28 PM
Hi guys, i'm new to discus and put 2x blue discus in my tank yesterday. I have 2 questions. First is it normal for them to peck at each other? That's all they've done for the past hour, I tried feeding them but that didn't solve anything!
Secondly, they're just staying in one area of the tank - will they explore the rest of it given time?

Thanks.

djceri_g
Sun Jul 01, 2007, 07:32 PM
did you buy them as a pair?

Matt_Cardiff_07
Sun Jul 01, 2007, 09:35 PM
Yeh they were both put in at the same time.

Dat
Mon Jul 02, 2007, 03:58 AM
i think they could be negotiating to see who's king of the tank. :)

scott bowler
Mon Jul 02, 2007, 05:16 AM
hi matt welcome to the forum mate good luck with the new fish. to answer your questions yes it is normal for them to have a peck at each other for a while just taking care of the boss part .2 t may take a few days before the settle down and have a look around the tank .it is all new to them so they get a bit shy to start with ,if your water quality is good they will be fine .keep us posted matt good luck

Greggy
Mon Jul 02, 2007, 06:08 AM
I expect my more experienced friends of this forum wll chime in and sort you out in due course, but let me start off with letting you into some basics for keeping Discus, just in case you've overlooked something.