PDA

View Full Version : shy fish

chris_d
Tue Oct 19, 2004, 06:15 AM
:lol: Hi i'm a newbie at keeping discus, though i have had experience with other tropical fish and i would like to know how long does it take for discus to get use to its new surroundings. I've had my discus for about a week and they rarely come out from the back of my tank. My tank is planted 3 x 1 x2 ft, with 4 brown discus about 3 inch long with 2 bristle nose catfish. they do come out to feed when there's no light or no one's there! When i do see them...rarely they seem content enough with no dark cloration. My water and temp are fine. Can anyone help me, i just want to enjow looking at my fish. :(

parasite
Tue Oct 19, 2004, 07:40 AM
hello and welcome to DF, usually about a week with no lights. how high is the tank off the ground? and are they in a high traffic area??

chris_d
Tue Oct 19, 2004, 10:28 AM
thanks for welcoming me. The tank is about 1m20cm of the ground and it is placed in a relatively quiet corner of the hous. i had turned the lights off for the first three days, but i'll take your advice and leave it off longer.

weird
Tue Oct 19, 2004, 11:31 AM
Assuming that temperature and ph is not fluctuating, that the water is regularly changed (0 ammonia, 0 nitrite) and your fish are not sick (white spot, velvet, flukes, tapeworm etc) ... your fish are probably going through a normal settling down period ... but healthy discus do normally rush to the front of the tank all the time crying for food.

What is your tank temp ?
Is ammonia or nitrite present in the tank ?
What is your ph ?
How regularly do you change the water and amount ?
Are you fish showing symptoms of any diease?
Why not take a picture of your setup and your fish ??

BTW, welcome to discus forums, where we like to d.i.s.c.u.s.S discus !!! ;)

ctvu
Tue Oct 19, 2004, 01:05 PM