PDA

View Full Version : CO2 & pH Fluctuations

TW
Wed Jun 20, 2007, 12:45 PM
Hi there

I'm a newby to Discus, but have a planted tank for around a year now with pressurised C02. The C02 keeps my usually high pH (7.5 or above) down at the target of 6.5.

I check my C02 bottle is running morning & night, but it usually runs out when I am at work. I have 2 spare bottles, which I keep filled so once I know one is empty, I can change to a full one quickly. But if it runs out while I am at work, the pH will steadily rise until I get home. I will make sure I am extra diligent checking the C02 - but what will this do to my discus if it spends nearly a whole working day at the higher pH.

The guage on my regulator doesn't really tell me when it's running out. It stays at full & only shows "empty" when it has run out.

Thanks in advance.

Erk
Wed Jun 20, 2007, 01:00 PM
Hey TankWatcher I am a newbie as well, and I have actually only had my pressurized system setup for a lil over a week now, and I do lots of research about all this fish stuff in general, and I found this link from plantgeek.com. Sounds like the pH is supposed to fluctuate like that. My tank goes from 7.0 without co2 to about 6.4 with co2 during the day, and I run a bubble wand when the lights go off just for some added safety. Just try to make sure you have a fairly high kH value in your aquarium, and the fluctuations shouldnt be a problem

http://www.theplantedtankfaq.com/CO2_FAQ.html

Its an interesting read. May or may not be correct info, but give it a read if you want, and hopefully in the meantime some of the more experienced co2 enthusiasts will chime in

Good luck with it all :D
Eric

TW
Wed Jun 20, 2007, 10:10 PM
Thanks Erk for the reply :D