PDA

View Full Version : New discus, is it fin rot? UPDATE! ALL BETTER! W/Pics

2discus
Thu May 24, 2007, 05:31 AM
Hi all, as of today I am new to discus. I got a pair of white butterfly in a trade. I am pretty sure the fish have not had top care recently, and one of them looks like part of its fins are sheared off (the best way to describe it is it looks like someone gave it a flat top), and its grey on the ends, and the tail is a little tattered. I think its finrot but I want to be sure. I have them in a 55 gal with a few homegrow guppies and 2 cory cats. I added a teaspoon/10 gal. of aquarium salt and plan on doing 25-50% daily water changes. I dont have any basis to say if its a bad case or not, I would take pictures but I guarentee they would not show up clearly. Do you think I will need antibiotics or should it clear up on its own if I keep up with the salt and water changes?

ETA Some other things I have noticed! The male seems to have an ok appetite, but the female hasnt ate hardly anything at all. Also right at the base of the females tail she has a lump, I tried to capture it in the pictures but it didnt really show.

Here she is, you can see the fins, the tail has ridges in it, its not smooth. You can also sort of see the lump at the base of her tail too.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v630/audrey-mae/DSCN1056.jpg

Just another pic of her
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v630/audrey-mae/DSCN1052.jpg

Him, does he look ok to you all?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v630/audrey-mae/DSCN1053.jpg

the german
Thu May 24, 2007, 11:24 AM
welcome to tyhe forum 2discus

send some pics please,and you water parameter like ph,oC,kh,gh,wee need as much info about your tank as possible to help.

michael

fish_r
Thu May 24, 2007, 01:46 PM
i had fin rot starting on one of my discus a cpl of weeks ago, looked like the dorsal fin was melting a little and it had a white edge. i treated with a 5 day course of waterlife Myxazin and it cleared it up.
HTH...

2discus