PDA

View Full Version : My first spawn!

v8extra
Tue May 15, 2007, 03:31 PM
Hello to all,

I am writing this post to receive any type of advice, because it is my first time trying to reproduce those kingly beasts.

Listen to that:

I moved my couple last friday (they have neverr breed before One blue diamond and one red turc SS), in a 90g bare tanks with only few branches of driftwood (help reducing pH, but it is quite dark), and 4 corys (which I put in there so that they would eat the food excess).

Sunday, I forgot to close my house window and in the next morning I realised that my tank has drop temperature by 4°C. So in that morning, I closed the windows and manage to slowly get the temperature back to 29°C.

On Monday night, guess what my discus are giving me the dance, heavy cleaning, they even layed there first egg right before my very novice eyes. It was an astonishing show. A fantastic experience.

This morning, I look more closely at the patch of eggs, I thing there may be 200 eggs... They are all deep orange in color, and for a lot of them I can distinguish that a very small section of each egg is whiteish. Is that normal

My water is at 29°C since the spawn, nitrate is at 10 ppm, ph is around 7 or 7.1, Kh, Gh 120 ppm (i know this one is high). The 90g tanks is almost full, and I have a eheim classic 2217 filter running, plus one set of 2 T8 neons on top of the tanks.

What should I do to improve my chance of successfully see these little wigglers hatch and survive...

TY to all in advance

Merrilyn
Wed May 16, 2007, 05:29 AM
Welcome to the forum, and congratulations on your success.

If your eggs are bright orange with a small dot on the centre, then that sounds like they are fertile. Infertile eggs turn completely white within 24 to 48 hours.

Ninety gallons is a fairly large tank for a breeding pair. The danger is that the fry will get lost and not be able to find the parents once they become free swimming.