PDA

View Full Version : German Blue Rams

Erk
Mon May 07, 2007, 02:07 PM
I know I have a good bit of fish in my tank, but I really like these fish! They are available locally, can I have some thoughts on if it would be ok, to get maybe 3 for my tank? Im sure most will say Im overstocked as it is, so maybe I will have to wait until I have another tank or something, later on down the road

Thanks very much! :D

fish_r
Mon May 07, 2007, 02:50 PM
u do seem a bit over stocked m8, but u could probably add a cpl and just up the water changes ?
but i'm no expert on stocking levels, i was a bit over stocked too, but i just do water changes every 3 days and every thing seems fine :)

Erk
Mon May 07, 2007, 02:55 PM
Thanks fish_r, if I buy one more 5 gallon bucket, it will make my water changes much more easy, with the routine I have going at the moment, and that would be 20 gallons each time, so about 43% 2 times a week? Usually wednesday and saturday or sunday...I will wait for some other peoples opinions before doing anything, but I appreciate the advice :D I kinda figured they didnt get that big, and I cant imagine they would create a huge bio-load in the tank?

Thanks again....I will keep my fingers crossed this is the same general info I get here :D

dntx5b9
Mon May 07, 2007, 03:16 PM
Two or three German Blue Rams won't add that much bio-load to your tank. So, if you increase the % of your water change each time, you should be fine. I had two Germans Blue Rams but one died mysteriously few days ago. Got all swollen and died in three days afer showing first signs of trouble. Some say that the rams can't handle the higher temp required for discus tank. Not sure ... I got the pair about three or four months ago. I also have a pair of Bolivian Rams that I got two months ago and they seem to be doing well. Good luck.

Erk
Mon May 07, 2007, 03:20 PM