PDA

View Full Version : what are the easiest and cheapest fish to keep??

krazykatyj
Mon May 07, 2007, 11:13 AM
Hi,

I am wondering what you all consider the easiest and cheapest fish to keep, something relateively maintenance free!

the german
Mon May 07, 2007, 11:18 AM
kind of funny question in a discus forum :D

but there are these guppys and staff like that,cheap,easy breeder,short lifespan :? and so on.
but why you look for cheap fish?
a discus can live up to 15 years,think how many guppy lives that are :D

Ben
Mon May 07, 2007, 11:19 AM
Gambusia.

the german
Mon May 07, 2007, 11:20 AM
:lol: :lol:

DiscusEden
Mon May 07, 2007, 11:20 AM
Carp. I mean goldfish. Carp.

Or a siamese fighter.

But carp.

krazykatyj
Mon May 07, 2007, 11:30 AM
thanks for your hekp all, so far!
I am new to keeping fish and only had goldfish in a small bowl as a kid, but they never lasted long. I was told that discuc can cost easily in the hundresds per pair, and i have a large tank which i wanted to fill with about 10 fish, and wasnt looking at spending more than a couple of hundred all up.

Any more ideas??

the german
Mon May 07, 2007, 11:44 AM
large tank :D couple of hundred :D look for a discus breeder who sells private,usually 2" go for 25$ that ae 8 discus for 200 and thats a good number for a big tank :D :D

krazykatyj
Mon May 07, 2007, 11:49 AM
thanks, you have given me food for thought. Is it reccomended for me to mix and match the type of discus i keep together, or same as a rule should i stick to same kind? Yes i had probably been quoted a higher price for a larger fish, but i am happy with smaller size, especially till i get started properly

the german
Mon May 07, 2007, 11:53 AM
you can put all kind of discus together.
and keeping them is not hard,its easy when you follow the rules,like WC,ph,good food....
all easy to learn in this forum,and when you have probs,just put a post in this foruma nd somebody will help you.

sounds like somebody like this forum :lol: :lol: