PDA

View Full Version : fin rot

fish_r
Sat May 05, 2007, 01:06 PM
i have a largish blue diamond that looked like it had a bit of fin rot starting on its dorsal fin a cpl of weeks ago and have been keeping my eye on it.
tonight i see that it is starting to get worse "not too bad" seems like it is melting slowly ? i do 30% water changes about every 3 days.
what can i do to start the healing process ? i think i read somewhere about using salt ? 1 heaped teaspoon to every 40lts is this right and do u think it would help ? it's just on the one fish all the others are fine ?
it's in the 5ft planted community tank with BN's, corrys, tetras etc. will the salt effect the other fish ?
the only other meds i have are octozin, protozin and prazi.
please help
thx
Rob...

Erk
Sat May 05, 2007, 01:33 PM
Rob, you know im no expert by any means, but I wonder these same things, so here are some links from my threads, so maybe this will help, while your waiting for the experts to reply

http://www.discusforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12335

http://www.discusforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12094

Good Luck! :D Im sure your blue diamond will be fine, but thats the right dose for salt, and it sounds like the salt doesnt do well with plants, and I doubt your other fishies will like it very much
Eric

fish_r
Sat May 05, 2007, 01:39 PM
thx for the reply Erk.
will check out the links
cheers
Rob...

the german
Sun May 06, 2007, 12:51 AM
hi fishr

fin rot can have several reasons,i guess your ph is good so that one is out,it can be heavy metals in your tank,any led or similar in there?

and last bacteria,not too bad and easy to cure:

there is nitrofuranitoin and chloramphenicol (i dont know if you can get it in au)
and acriflavin what you can get in every LFS.
salt dont work here :(

michael

fish_r
Sun May 06, 2007, 03:21 AM