PDA

View Full Version : New to Discus Forums

gfindura
Thu Mar 15, 2007, 02:49 PM
Hello everyone! I'm new to Discus Forums as I am a new discus keeper. This section seemed to be the best place to make an introduction. A little background about me:

--I am currently 31 years old and a licensed chiropractor in NJ.
--I have been involved in the aquarium hobby since age 6.
--I started working at LFS's at age 14 (because I was--and still am--very tall, I could pass for legal working age) and quickly spent all of the money I earned on all sorts of fish and equipment.
--I almost went the career path of an ichthyologist, but decided to become a chiropractor instead--a decision I definitely do not regret.
--I used to own and operate an aquarium maintenence business in northern NJ. Heck, some of my ex-clients might even be in this forum. I know one of them, Alfred T., had a brother--Roland T.--who bred discus in NJ.
--I have been keeping and breeding Uaru a.'s and Tropheus moorii's for the past four years with some loricarids, tetras, rainbowfish, arowanas, datnoids, black shark, thrown in with the Uaru's.
--I recently traded a group of juvenile Uaru a.'s for a group of juvenile discus with a friend of mine who happens to be a fish importer. These particular discus were raised in a fish farm in Vietnam.

Okay, hoping to share my experience with other members of the forum here and learn a thing or three myself. I am also pretty active at uaru-forums.com and I tend to share my Uaru knowledge there. While I have never owned discus myself, I've kept them in shops--but that was over 15 years ago. Yes, I have heard horror stories. But, I've heard horror stories about Uaru's and Tropheus moorii's and I have been breeding those species successfully for a few years now. So, how hard can these discus be?

When I get the chance, I'll put up some current pics of my tanks in the photo section (if there is one). Mahalo!

-Greg Findura
Bloomfield, NJ

Hail2Pitt02
Thu Mar 15, 2007, 04:08 PM