PDA

View Full Version : rapid respiration and bloated tummy

eykw
Mon Mar 12, 2007, 07:11 AM
hi there, i am new to the discus madness. and i've got a couple of questions regarding one of my newly acquired. i bought 2 5cm red turq 1.5 month ago and they were great in hospital tank, eating, pooing, coming to the front etc. i placed them into the main 2.5 ft tank. however after a week or two, one of them displayed some "symptoms" while the other became the king of the tank. water parameter is good and temp is 29C. there are x4 5 cm PB and x2 4 cm BD, x2 sterbai cory and x1 peppermint BN. symptoms included slightly bloated tummy, rapid breathing and colour seemed to be a bit darker than the other one. and the strange thing is he was not bullied at all. it hides after a while however comes out when i approach the tank. i took him out 4 days ago and starved it for a little while to make sure the tummy's bloated. it's still doing ok, feeding and comes to the front glass. however i ve noted the membrane inside the gill is "flapping" and exposed more prominently. tummy is still slightly bloated. my questions are:
what medication should i use and where can i buy them?
should i medicate the main tank too? i think so. and what should i do.
after reading more on the forum. i think the fish is stunted too cos it's got relatively big eyes compare to the "king". is there anything i can do with stunted discus? many thanks in advance.
Eric

mistakes r crucial
Wed Mar 14, 2007, 07:31 AM