PDA

View Full Version : discus eggs

kaiser72
Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:15 AM
My discus laid eggs for the first time today. they laid them on the bottom of the tank. the female has gone of her food, but the male is still eating well. the eggs appear to be black in colour with a tiny white spot on them. are they ok where they are?
She appears to be fanning them with her pectoral fins. last i looked the male seemed to be a little attentive as well.
Please leave any feed back you can as i am an extreme beginner!!
Cheers to you all,
Troy(AKA KAISER)

the german
Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:21 AM
hi troy

on the bottom of the tank is very unusual,i never heard something like that before.
you say there are black with a white spot,thats not normal they should be clear and orange in colour.
and pectoral fin is unusual too.
they probably eat them today becaude there is something wrong with them,but no woorys they will spawn again and then hoepfully on the side of the tank or on diftwood or a plant.
my guess would be there a young and dont know what they do :D remembers me on something :D
just give them time.

michael

kaiser72
Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:27 AM
aparently they have bred before, quite successfully. if i can get a picture i will post it for you.

the german
Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:33 AM
that will be good.
you say they bred before,you have any idea how old they are?

kaiser72
Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:47 AM
Hi Michael. About 2 years old. my friend i got them from is fairly trustworthy with things like that. the eggs look like smaller versions of caviar.

Troy

the german
Thu Mar 08, 2007, 02:54 AM
2 years is very good they are fully grown then.
there is definitly something wrong with the eggs and the way they laid them.
that they laid them in the morning is also unusual,at least for me,
i read a few times it can happen but i never saw it with my fish,it was everytime late afternoon or early night,depends on the temperatue.

michael

kaiser72
Thu Mar 08, 2007, 03:25 AM