PDA

View Full Version : Brilliant Turquoise Layed Eggs.

Primordius
Thu Jan 25, 2007, 12:49 AM
Hey Guys,

My new pair of Brilliant Turquoise layed eggs yesterday and although that was the desired result, never in my wildest dreams did I think it would happen so fast! I had the pair 4 sleeps and came home to find about 100 - 200 eggs on my PVC pipe (makeshift breeding cone!).

Although i've had many fish in the past, this is my first attempt at breeding any of kind. I did a lot of research and it really helped me identify different behaviours, stages and also maintain the right water quality. Can't remember how I got to this forum, but the information I found here has been invaluable. Thanks to everyone!

For those others that are having problems breeding, here is a short summary of my setup and routine.

1x 2 Ft tank
1x bottle of PRIME
1x Pair Brilliant Turquoise
1x Discus Buffer pack
1x pH Master Kit
1x Biomax Sponge Filter
1x Eheim 2217 Air Pump
1x PVC Pipe sectioned and cut to angle inside tank
1x 32 Cube pack of Blood Worms
1x Pack of Epsom Salts (just in case)

I setup the tank and equipment approx 1 week before purchasing the pair. At this stage, I forgot the filter takes in excess of 2-4 weeks to fully cycle (more on that later). I hadn't even been cycling the filter properly --- just checking pH, Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate and temp levels.

Before I collected the pair at LFS, I did a 50% WC and checked all the appropriate WQ settings. The LFS claimed these Discus were kept at around 28 deg C in a pH of 7.4 and were being fed blood worms.

My pH was about 7.2 at the time and temp fluctuating between 25 and 30 deg C. I was extremely concerned about the temp, so I decided to heat from 27 deg C so as to prevent major fluctuations. Even then, I thought i'd have a problem. However, this was not the case.