PDA

View Full Version : Shrinking tummy / never eating... sigh.

Mat
Sat Jan 20, 2007, 11:25 AM
Long time listener, first time poster... this is a great forum.

I've kept Discus for a few years now and am hopefully not a complete newbie. 4 tanks incl 3 year planted co2 injected planted display etc.

But over the years I've lost several fish (not just Discus) to these symptoms:

Progressive wasting, no other external symptoms. Not hiding but not active either; occasionally eating but not much or not at all. This one is a juvie red/white (6cm snow leopard) so can't see a colour change. No poo ever seen to analyse. Tummy gradually shrinking, fish not growing and getting skinnier as the weeks go by.

Not getting picked on, not communal either - detached and uninterested. Not overly shy but not outgoing either (sounds like an internet dating site!)

I've previously tried Metro with no success on other fish and now don't have any. I do have access to octozin, prazi (currently treating with this anyway), levamisole, tri-sulpha etc but I can't get Metro.

I do daily water changes with 50/50 aged/RO water. Water conditions are all good. Diet is BH mix, quality pellets and frozen bloodworms.

10 other juvie discus in the same tank are doing very well.

I have tried putting this one with 2-3 peer fish only, no change.

So, can anyone suggest something else? I bet you're all going to say metro...! Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance for any ideas.

Merrilyn
Sun Jan 21, 2007, 03:43 AM
Hi Mat, and welcome to the forum.

It sounds like you're doing everything right. Unfortunately some discus just seem to get a wasting disease. Not really sure of the cause, and it doesn't appear to be contagious, because as you've seen, other fish in the tank will be unaffected.