Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

What sand to use???

I am thinking of using river sand on a new Discus tank, can anyone suggest a good "available" option in the Sydney area...

It would need to be such that it didnt affect the chemistry of the water, as well as being able to foot some grass type plants (with the aid of root tabs and C02 for the plants well being and successful growth).

Colour is not that important, just as long as it is not to dark, and not too fine...

thx in advance.

Swimmingpool filter sand is totally inert and good for plant growth, but it may be a bit too fine for you. I have used it in the past with success.
    Thirty-five years keeping and breeding discus, and I'm still learning :P

Merrilyn has passed, but will not be forgotten - Goodbye dear friend

Thanks for the advice...

Does anyone have any experience with River sands...

there are some sweet colours etc, that I have seen at Flower Power, and some other nurseries

Blue Diamond Discus
    I was about to ask the same question. I just ordered my 4x2x2 tank from xtreme and have been thinking about what gravel to use ... my wife has always liked sand ....
    Dave

Blue Diamond Discus
    Is Onyx sand the same ? I found an interesting article referenced by an aussies home site, http://home.iprimus.com.au/clintbrearley/barr.htm

The owners web page, Clint, has glass shrimp in with his discus.

http://home.iprimus.com.au/clintbrearley/index.htm
    Dave

just go to the local landscape supplies centre and ask for "WASHED RIVER SAND"

this is what they use in potting mixes and for getting those golf greens so smooth that the ball always breaks away form the hole

just wash it a few times and then test it, its really cheap but thats because somtimes they pull it from a brackish layer under or along side the fresh water table

its normally found inland so its not highly calcium based but always test these products.

far to many cowboys out there,