Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Just an Egg

ordered a 150 gallon tank for my Discus

I ordered a 150gallon 'Clear for Life Deluxe' setup from fishtanksdirect.com to put my discus in, they are currently in a 55 gallon.

I'm brand new to Discus after buying a 55 gallon + 6 juvenile Discus three weeks ago. This is my first aquarium in over 20 years, though I had 7 aquariums of various sizes before that time.

My Discus:
    3 Red Marlboro (3 inches)
    2 Blue Diamond (2.75 inches)
    1 Pigeon Blood (3 inches)

In their current 55 gallon:
    I feed them 4-5 times a day and they all eat really well except for the 2 Blue Diamonds who are a smidgen smaller than the rest and so get bullied a bit and don't get quite as much food as they rest. I do 50% water changes 3 times per week. I have 2.5 inches coarse gravel substrate and for filtration I have an over-tank power filter that came with the tank, and added a second one to increase filtration. Also have a power head in the tank for more oxygen. Tankmates are 2 cory catfish, 2 plecos, and 2 rosy barbs. For decorations I have three artificial plants and three artificial driftwood decorations.
    QUESTION: does all of the above sound ok? I welcome any suggestions/advice.

for the new 150 gallon:
    After three weeks of keeping the 6 Discus in the 55 gallon tank I realize I want to make a really nice home for them. The tank I ordered comes with a double overflow sump filter setup, the salesman told me this will handle ever a saltwater setup.
    Here are my plans for the 150 gallon:
    Substrate: 3 inches of pool filter sand.