Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Is this overkill ?

Hi All,

Im just throwing some ideas around for when I tranfer my juvi's in to the 4x2x2. Here's what im thinking.

4x2x2 Tank
    1 x 2217 Eheim Canister
    1 x 2215 Eheim Canister
    2 x 400W Hydor THEO Heaters
    1 x CoraLife Turbo Twist 9w UV
    1 x CoraLife Turbo Twist 18w UV
    2 x Standard Air Stones

I have all these bits except the 18w UV. I would put the 18w UV on the output of the 2217 and the 9w on the output of the 2215. The flow rates match for this kind of set up. This set up will house 13 discus, which is 1 over what is recommended maximum for a 120G tank, hence the filter set up. I didn't want to run both filters with only one having a UV on the output.

How does this set up sound ? Anything I should keep in mind ?

Cheers,

Dee.

Dee, I would be happy to live in a tank like that! It sounds perfect. :P
    Thirty-five years keeping and breeding discus, and I'm still learning :P

Merrilyn has passed, but will not be forgotten - Goodbye dear friend

Hi Merrilyn,

Thanks for the prompt reply

I was also thinking that I would get another set of the Eheim quick release tap thingy's and use them to connect the UV's. If for any reason (cleaning etc), I could just whip the UV's out and easily keep the filters hooked up ... If that makes sense.

Do you think that set up will happily house 13 Discus, with 30% WC's every second day ofcourse.

Cheers,

Dee

Tiny Fry
    Instead on the 2 eheim get yourself a trickle filter

Thirteen will be fine in there. The quick release hoses will make cleaning a lot easier. I've never had a problem with water leakage from my eheim fittings.
    Thirty-five years keeping and breeding discus, and I'm still learning :P

Merrilyn has passed, but will not be forgotten - Goodbye dear friend

Hi PSX,

I'm going with the 2 Eheims because I already have them. Need to keep my funds for the 18W corlife i'm about to order

Merrilyn,