Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi, I'm New Here!

sand sub how long till i add my fish

heya guys today i redid my tank with white play sand and just wondering how how long till i can add my fish its all milky but clearing up should i hold off till its totally clear or is the cloudyness no big issue ?

Hi, I'm New Here!
    well its been about 6hrs now still a little milky nothing like it was though my discus seem to be getting a bit on edge in their waiting bucket if it dont clear up soon is there any discus safe water clearing solutions any one can recommend ?

Just an Egg
    it won't harm the fish, usually if you rinse the sand in a bucket until the water runs clear this won't happen

Wrigglers
    mate im far from an expert,but filtration will clear it in time as well as the sand settling.
    if you can hold off putting your fish in,i would,but if they are stressed it maybe better putting them back in the tank.
    like i said im no expert,but try not to stress your fish out.........
    cheer marty

Just an Egg
    if its play sand form bunnings it will contain clay with a very fine particle size that will not get picked up by your filter

Hi, I'm New Here!
    yep its play sand from bunnings lol washed screened weed free my Ar$% lol but its comming along nice now i didnt realize it contained clay though im guessing this wont affect my fish ?
    thanx for the feed back guys ive been out of the discus game for a few years now and just got back in to it loving every pain staking moment of it lol such fussy little turds but i love em and they are worth every head ache they can throw at me lol

Just an Egg
    Just to add my 2 bobs worth