Just an Egg

Cleaning bio noodles

Firstly, should I ever clean the bio noodles (ceramic/plastic bio balls) in my filter and if so how?.

Secondly, I use a carbon/wool cartidge in my overhead filter. I have read two different opinions as to where they should go in the filter. One says to place it on top of the noodles and then the black sponge pad on top of that. The other article says to place the black sponge on top of the noodles and then the carbon/wool catridge on top (water flows directly on top of this).
    Which is best for filtration?.

Thanks.

Hi, I'm New Here!
    Hi there,
    Im only a newbie to discus but had plenty of fish over time and cleaning your noodles is a no-no. This is the home of all your good bacteria that help manage your water quality.
    As for the carbon wool, I doubt it matters if its on top or bottom of your noodles but I would place it after water has passed through your normal filter wool or pad so it does not clog with suspended particles in your water.
    Hope this helps.
    Cheers Paul

I clean my filter the trick is to use TANK water not tap water. Remember bacteria live in the porus media as well as on it do even if you rinse it in tank water and get all the muck off the bulk of your bacteria will be fine within the media. Dirty filters breed disease and cause all kinds of issues with nitrification and acidity with your water

Just an Egg
    Thanks ILLUSN, so I take it to clean all the 'muck' off the noodles etc is fine with tank water and the bacteria will still be good?. I noticed that my noodles and bio balls are covered in slime and I always thought I should leave it like that as they were 'good' bacteria.

All that said should I replace the noodles at any time, I do realise if I do this it would have to be a gradual process, eg 1/4 at a time until bacteria regrown on the new ones.

Always good to get the correct information as some people say never to clean your media (noodles/bio balls etc).

Thanks again