howdy new to discus

Hey people,

thought id say hi and share what im getting myself into atm..

i have a tank which is about 30x20x20
    water is:
    ph 6.9
    nitrates/nitrites/ammonia 0

i have 4 little discus, i think i may have a couple of pairs, i see them shimmer at each other and they break off into groups of 2.

iv only had them about 2 weeks things are going well, i have a mix of tetras coydas and a small tiger pleco, and a couple of klown loaches.

tank has a fluval 105 and gravel and plants and some driftwood.

iv been told that it can be risky to keep discus with gravel/plants but i guess i will see how i go, iv been keeping fish for years this is my first attempt at growing this young discus up, as they grow ill more then likly get them a bigger tank i really want to build a 100% planted and discus tank in the near future.

i brought the discus off Don a Brisbane breeder enjoy the pics, i plan to take photos as the grow up so i can keep track of the colours as the mature.

Regards,

Bruce

Just an Egg
    Welcome aboard Bruce. Looks like your guys are swimming around quite happily

I assume your dimensions are in inches? So it's roughly 75*50*50cm? Owning a Fluval 105 myself I think they're only rated to 100L, so you're looking at 180L? You don't happen to have a larger filter?

I'm sure you're going to find heaps of useful information here!

yeah well the problem was i brought the filter for a 24x12x12 and it had a problem so i quickly brought this tank. (was very unplanned and rushed) the tank split.

its been keeping the quality of the water very well for the last 6 months so im going to stick with it for now i plan to buy a new filter when i start the new tank project..

since i got the discus im keeping an eye on the water quality to ensure they will be happy and going to try and keep a 20% water change once a week.
    Regards,

Bruce

Hi Bruce, welcome to the forum